PENNSYLVANIA DEPARTMENT OF THE AUDITOR GENERAL

🚹 Pennsylvania Auditor General 🛛 💟 PaAuditorGen 🛛 🛅 Pennsylvania Auditor General



News for Immediate Release

May 6, 2024

Auditor General DeFoor Releases Audits of Municipal Pension Plans in **17** Counties

HARRISBURG – Auditor General Timothy L. DeFoor today announced the release of audits of 41 municipal and police pension plans in Allegheny, Berks, Bucks, Centre, Cumberland, Delaware, Greene, Lackawanna, Lehigh, Luzerne, Mifflin, Montgomery, Northampton, Venango, Washington, Westmoreland and York counties.

"Our audits make sure state pension aid is used as required by law, which helps to reduce financial burdens on local taxpayers," DeFoor said.

State aid for municipal pension plans is generated by a 2 percent tax on fire and casualty insurance policies sold in Pennsylvania by out-of-state companies. In 2023, the Department of the Auditor General distributed a total of \$372.77 million in aid to 1,471 municipalities and regional departments to support pension plans covering police officers, paid firefighters and non-uniformed employees.

The department is required by law to audit municipal pension plans and volunteer fire relief associations that receive state aid from the department; liquid fuels tax usage by municipalities; various county offices and numerous other state government entities.

Explanations of findings are found in the full audit reports linked below or available online at www.PaAuditor.gov/audit-reports.

Allegheny County

Pitcairn Borough Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Pitcairn Borough Police Pension Plan

Berks County

Birdsboro Borough Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Birdsboro Borough Non-Uniformed Union Pension Plan

Birdsboro Borough Police Pension Plan

Bucks County

Nockamixon Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Nockamixon Township Polce Pension Plan

Centre County

Halfmoon Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan **Cumberland County** Hampden Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan Hampden Township Police Pension Plan West Pennsboro Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan **Delaware County** Darby Borough Non-Uniformed Pension Plan **Darby Borough Police Pension Plan Greene County** Cumberland Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan **Cumberland Township Police Pension Plan** Greene County Regional Police Pension Plan Lackawanna County South Abington Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan South Abington Township Police Pension Plan Lehigh County Whitehall Township Non-Uniformed Cash Balance Pension Plan Whitehall Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan Whitehall Township Police Pension Plan **Luzerne County** Hughestown Borough Non-Uniformed Pension Plan Hughestown Borough Police Pension Plan Pittston Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan Pittston Township Police Pension Plan **Mifflin County** Mifflin County Regional Police Department Non-Uniformed Pension Plan **Montgomery County** Lower Merion Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan Lower Merion Township Profit Sharing Pension Plan Norristown Borough Laborers' Non-Uniformed Pension Plan Norristown Borough Management Non-Uniformed Pension Plan Norristown Borough Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Norristown Borough Police Pension Plan
Northampton County
Pen Argyl Borough Non-Uniformed Pension Plan
Venango County
City of Franklin Firemen's Pension Plan
City of Franklin Non-Uniformed Pension Plan
City of Franklin Police Pension Plan
Washington County
Union Township Non-Uniformed Cash Balance Pension Plan
Union Township Non-Uniformed Union Pension Plan
Westmoreland County
City of Latrobe Non-Uniformed Pension Plan
City of Latrobe Police Pension Plan
York County
Stewartstown Borough Non-Uniformed Pension Plan
#