Auditor General DeFoor Releases Audits of 36 Municipal Pension Plans in 19 Counties

May 25 2022
Press Release Image

Auditor General DeFoor Releases Audits of 36 Municipal Pension Plans in 19 Counties

Printer friendly news release

HARRISBURG – Auditor General Timothy L. DeFoor today announced the release of audit reports for 36 municipal pension plans in Allegheny, Beaver, Bucks, Cambria, Clearfield, Crawford, Delaware, Erie, Fayette, Lancaster, Luzerne, Monroe, Northampton, Snyder, Tioga, Wayne, Westmoreland, Wyoming and York counties.

“Our audits make sure state pension aid is used as required by law, which helps to reduce financial burdens on local taxpayers,” DeFoor said.

State aid for municipal pension plans is generated by a 2 percent tax on fire and casualty insurance policies sold in Pennsylvania by out-of-state companies. In 2021, the Department of the Auditor General distributed a total of $317 million in aid to 1,492 municipalities and regional departments to support pension plans covering police officers, paid firefighters and non-uniformed employees.

The department is required by law to audit municipal pension plans and volunteer fire relief associations that receive state aid from the department; liquid fuels tax usage by municipalities; various county offices and numerous other state government entities. 

Explanations of findings are found in the full audit reports linked below or available online at

Allegheny County

Dravosburg Borough Non-Uniformed Union Pension Plan

Dravosburg Borough Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Ohio Township Police Pension Plan

Ohio Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Beaver County

Big Beaver Borough Police Pension Plan

Big Beaver Borough Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Bucks County

Bedminster Township Police Pension Plan

Bedminster Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Cambria County

Ferndale Borough Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Clearfield County

Osceola Mills Borough Police Pension Plan

Crawford County

Conneaut Lake Borough Non-Uniformed Pension Plan  

Delaware County

Chester Township Police Pension Plan  

Chester Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Erie County

Girard Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Fayette County

Saltlick Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Lancaster County

Bethel Township Police Pension Plan

Bethel Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Quarryville Borough Police Pension Plan

Quarryville Borough Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

West Cocalico Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

West Donegal Township Non-Uniformed Employee Pension Plan

Luzerne County

City of Hazleton Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

City of Hazleton Aggregate Pension Fund

Pringle Borough Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Monroe County

Barrett Township Non-Uniformed Employees Pension Plan

Tunkhannock Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Northampton County

Hellertown Borough Police Pension Plan

Snyder County

Monroe Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Tioga County

Mansfield Borough Union Employees’ Pension Plan

Mansfield Borough Police Pension Plan

Mansfield Borough Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Wayne County

Paupack Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Salem Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

Westmoreland County

Manor Borough Police Pension Plan

Wyoming County

Eaton Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan

York County

Warrington Township Non-Uniformed Pension Plan


Review other recent audits, sign up to be notified when new audits are released and learn more about the Department of the Auditor General online at

# # #

Return to search results